About University

Lublin University of Technology was established as Evening Engineering School in May 1953 on initiative of Lublin technical societies.

At present, there are six Faculties of the Lublin University of Technology:

  • Mechanical Engineering,
  • Electrical Engineering and Computer Science,
  • Building and Architecture,
  • Environmental Engineering
  • Management,
  • Fundamentals of Technology,

and interfaculty units such as:

  • Foreign Languages Department,
  • Physical Education and Sport Department,
  • LUT's Library,
  • Information Technology Centre,
  • Centre for Innovation and Advanced Technologies of the LUT,
  • Lublin Centre for Technology Transfer of the LUT,
  • Lublin Innovation Partnership (Incubator) of the LUT,
  • Office for Development and Cooperation of the LUT.

Organisation and Staff

The executive functions of the university are carried out by the university senate and the rector. The university senate determines the rules by which the university is to be governed, establishes graduation requirements, chooses the fields and direction of scientific research, and also makes decisions on the university's development and services. The senate is chaired by the rector. The faculties are led by the deans. 

Lublin University of Technology employs ca. 1,100 staff members, among them 550 academic teachers. Staff members are appointed as specific experts for the authority levels, boards and public opinion bodies.

The university's staff and students have helped to establish its reputation as one of the best and the most popular in the university sector. It has an excellent academic reputation, which is reflected in the successful employment record of its graduates.


From the moment of establishment the Lublin University  of Technology has registered the 100-times increase of the student's number and offered modern and very useful specializations and courses. At present, there are ca. 11,000 persons, where 6,400 are full time students, 3,600 part time students, 500 post graduate participants and 90 PhDs.

The University presents study courses within the first level (engineer and licentiate), second level (master) and third level (doctoral degree) as well as post graduate studies.

The University also offers different study structure - post degree study courses and additional course for High School students and industry employees, who are willing to continue their vocational education.

Courses and degrees

Over the past 50 years over 30,000 graduates left the University. Graduates can receive the degree of Engineer or Master of Engineering, and the academic degree of Doctor of Academic Sciences. Since 1994 LUT graduates may apply for the title of "European Engineer" offered by the Federation of the European Associations of Engineers. The academic year is divided in two semesters (winter semester since October 1st till the end of January and summer semester since middle of February till the end of June). Mid-term examinations take place in February, while final examinations in June. The obligatory professional practice is held in summer. The last semester is devoted to preparing final dissertations.

Educational resources

The Library provides a fully comprehensive service for students. The main aim of our Library is to efficiently support the process of studying, scientific research and professional undertakings for which technical literature is necessary. This is why the Library offers numerous academic textbooks, monographs and reference sources in science and engineering. The collection contains over 150000 printed books, we also have over 300 Polish journals and 40 foreign journals subscribed.

LUT has a wide range of computer facilities available to all students. All the University's micros are linked into the main computer system.

The media services of Lublin University of Technology, supported by qualified audio-visual technicians, are considerable and they are available to assist students in their courses. These services cover the needs of both the scientific community at the university and its central administration.

University History